FOOD FOR HEALTH SEMINAR SERIES

Please join us for the Food for Health Seminar Series (FHSS)-

Seminar Time: Noon-1PM CT **Unless noted otherwise below

Zoom URL: TBA

Zoom Passcode: TBA

Or Join by Telephone: TBA

Meeting ID: TBA

For more information or if you are interested in scheduling meeting time with upcoming presenters, please contact Allie Claypool.

FALL 2021 SCHEDULE

Date                  
Presenter

Friday, Oct. 1, 2021

Dr. Yanbin Yin (University of Nebraska- Lincoln)

Title: "TBA"

Friday, Nov. 5, 2021

Dr. Sherry Flint-Garcia (USDA-Agricultural Research Service & University of Missouri)

Title: "TBA"

Thursday, Dec. 2, 2021

6-7PM CT

Virtual

Dr. Takuji Yamada (Tokyo Institute of Technology)

Title: "TBA"

Friday, Dec. 10, 2021

TBA

Title: "TBA"

PAST SEMINARS

Date                  
Presenter

Friday, Feb. 8, 2019

Dr. Greg Phillips (Iowa State University)

"Community involvement: tracking genetic adaptation in the gut microbiome"

Friday, Mar. 1, 2019

Dr. Tiffany Weir (Colorado State University)

""The Gut Microbiota and Future of Food"

Friday, Apr. 5, 2019

Dr. Moul Dey (South Dakota State University)

"Diet, microbiome, and chronic diseases"

Friday, Apr. 26, 2019

Kristina Campbell

"Successful science communication in a digital world”

Friday, Oct. 4, 2019

Dr. Jason M. Ridlon (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign)

"Elucidating the human sterolbiome"

Friday, Nov. 1, 2019

Dr. Frederick M. Cohan (Wesleyan University)

"The Underbelly of Ecological Diversity in Bacteria and Viruses"

Friday, Dec. 6, 2019

Dr. Dan Knights (University of Minnesota)

"Integrating dietary intake into microbiome studies"

Friday, Dec. 13, 2019

Dr. Chris Callewaert  (Center for Microbial Ecology and Technology)

"The Science of Body Odor: The Armpit Microbiome"

Friday, Feb. 7, 2020

Dr. Stephen Lindemann (Purdue University)

Title: "Fiber structure controls on the structure and function of gut microbiota"

Friday, Mar. 6, 2020

Dr. Kerry Ivey (Harvard School of Public Health)

Title: "Microbiome, diet and data: Integrating microbiomics into nutritional epidemiology"

Friday, May 1, 2020

Dr. Paul McMurdie (Second Genome, Inc.)

Title: "Novel Probiotic Improves Glucose Control in Subjects with Type 2 Diabetes: Double Blind, Randomized Placebo-Controlled Trial of Safety and Metabolic Effects"

Friday, Sept. 4, 2020

Dr. Federico Rey (University of Wisconsin- Madison)

Title: "Exploring the causes and consequences of gut microbiome variation"

Friday, Sept. 18, 2020

Dr. Gregory Leyer (UAS Laboratories)

Title: "From Discovery to Market"

Friday, Oct. 2, 2020

Dr. Jon Vanderhoof (Boston Children's Hospital Harvard Medical School)

Title: "Gut Health, a Clinician's Perspective"

Friday, Nov. 6, 2020

Dr. Eric Martens (University of Michigan)

Title: "Degradation of diet and host derived polysaccharides by human gut bacteria: roles in health and disease"

Friday, Sept. 18, 2020

Dr. Cathryn Nagler (The University of Chicago)

Title: "Regulation of Allergic Responses to Food by Intestinal Bacteria"

Friday, Feb. 26, 2021

Dr. Kurt Piepenbrink (University of Nebraska- Lincoln)

Title: "Nucleation of bacterial biofilm by extracellular polymers"

Friday, Mar. 5, 2021

Dr. Dong-Yup Lee (Sungkyunkwan University, Korea)

Title: "Model-guided design and engineering of personalized probiotics with host and microbiome interactions"

Friday, Mar. 26, 2021

Dr. Jacques Izard (University of Nebraska- Lincoln)

Title: "Food and microbiome proxies for measuring the unmeasurable in large human cohorts"

Friday, Apr. 9, 2021

Dr. Jennifer Auchtung (University of Nebraska- Lincoln)

Title: "Characterizing colonization resistance: How are GI microbiomes disrupted and how can they be restored?"

Friday, Apr. 23, 2021

Dr. Jonathan Clayton (University of Nebraska- Omaha)

Title: "Modeling host-microbiome relationships in the primate gut"

Friday, Apr. 30, 2021

Dr. Helen Vuong (UCLA)

Title: "Towards understanding the role of the microbiome in central nervous system development and function"